Our Governors

Ruth Newton, Chair of Governors, Safeguarding Governor (Foundation Governor)

Ruth has recently retired after 16 years of headship in two local church schools.  She is a past member of staff of Flax Bourton School and her two daughters were educated here.

“For me Flax Bourton epitomizes everything an excellent small church school should be – wholly inclusive; superb pastoral support for pupils and their families; close links with the local church and village community; a well used and stimulating environment and a real sense of respect and responsibility for the world.”

‘Having worshipped at Flax Bourton church for over 30 years and currently working for the Diocese of Bath and Wells both as an Associate and as a SIAMS Inspector (Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools) I am delighted to have been appointed as a Foundation Governor.’  “I hope to continue to build on the strong links between church and school and to willingly share my expertise and experience in education and church schools in particular, for the benefit of this very special school – truly a little gem!”

Natasha McKenzie (Parent Governor) 

“I am a parent to Felix and Luca in Beech and Willem who started school in September 2014. I became a governor in 2010 because I have a vested interest in the education of my children and wanted to play a part in shaping the future of their school.”

Having spent the majority of her career working for multinational advertising agencies McCann Erickson and M&C Saatchi Natasha has good marketing expertise. Natasha now works as a management consultant and the school benefits from her experience in providing strategic vision; supporting personnel; and establishing best practice.

Andrew Jordan – Vice Chair of Governors (Co-opted Governor) 

Victoria Gough (LA Governor)

Matt McFeat (Parent Governor)

Suzy Barnes (Parent Governor) 

Carole Phillips, Safeguarding Governor (Foundation Governor)

Gillian Luff (Co-opted Governor)

Tamsin Karim  (Parent Governor)

 Tony Cook (Associate Governor)

Polly Brown (Associate Governor)

Jane Bennett and Lorraine Woollven (C0-Head Teachers)

Jo Smith (Staff Governor) 

 John Purcell (Clerk to Governors)